Monsieur De Pourceaugnac 5 Brigitte Enguerand-header

Theater


Monsieur de Pourceaugnac


Molière / Lully

Back

Monsieur de Pourceaugnac
Molière / Lully


Ensemble

Instrumental ensemble of Les Arts Florissants

Musical direction

William CHRISTIE - décembre 2015, janvier et juillet 2016

Musical Direction (alternately)

Paolo ZANZU - février (sauf 23 et 24), mars, mai et juin 2016

Musical Direction (alternately)

Jonathan COHEN - 23 et 24 février 2016

Staging

Clément HERVIEU-LÉGER

Set design

Aurélie MAESTRE

Costumes design

Caroline DE VIVAISE

Lights

Bertrand COUDERC

Sound

Jean-Luc RISTORD

Choreography

Bruno BOUCHÉ


Cast

Erwin AROS, haute-contre, 2d musicien, l'Égyptien
Cyril COSTANZO, basse, apothicaire, avocat, archer
Claire DEBONO, soprano, l'Égyptienne
Matthieu LÉOCRART, baryton-basse, 1er musicien, médecin, avocat, exempt


Stéphane Facco – médecin, Lucette, suisse
Juliette Léger - Julie
Clémence Boué – Nérine, Picarde, suisse
Gilles Privat – Monsieur de Pourceaugnac
Guillaume Ravoire – Eraste
Daniel San Pedro – Sbrigani
Alain Trétout – Oronte


Program

Jean-Baptiste LULLY - Monsieur de Pourceaugnac

Monsieur de Pourceaugnac embraces several important themes dear to Molière: marriage, money, illness. Freshly arrived from Limoges to marry young Julie, Pourceaugnac immediately falls prey to Sbrigani and Nérine, two intriguers paid by the young lady’s lover to prevent this arranged marriage. Manipulated in turns by doctors, by a woman from Picardy or by the Swiss Guards, this small-town-man is as lost in the streets of the capital city as he is in his own head; he will eventually have no other solution but to flee from Paris disguised as a woman. Taking on the form of a simple comedy, inspired by canvas from the Italian comedia dell’arte and embellished by music and dance, Monsieur de Pourceaugnac certainly is one of Molière’s darkest and cruellest plays that  has written.

Contrarily to other comedie-ballets, in Monsieur de Pourceaugnac music is not a simple ornament, but an inherent part of the dramaturgy of the play. For William Christie and myself, it is this interweaving of music and theatre that precisely gives this piece its particular interest. While in the nascent opera music will little by little take precedence over theatre, Molière and Lully pull off an incredible challenge with this piece: to make theatre from music.

Clément Hervieu-Léger

Production: C.I.C.T. / Théâtre des Bouffes du Nord
Coproduction: Théâtre de Caen, Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg, Les Arts Florissants, Château de Versailles Spectacles, CNCDC Châteauvallon, Théâtre Impérial de Compiègne, Compagnie des petits champs, Théâtre de Liège
Construction of the sets: Les Ateliers des Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg
Action financed by la Région Île-de-France
With the support for touring from Arcadi Île-de-France

Previous dates

Season 2015/2016

Caen / France
théâtre de Caen

  • Thursday, December 17 2015, 8pm
  • Friday, December 18 2015, 8pm
  • Saturday, December 19 2015, 8pm
  • Sunday, December 20 2015, 5pm
  • Monday, December 21 2015, 8pm
  • Tuesday, December 22 2015, 8pm

Versailles / France
Opéra Royal

  • Thursday, January 7 2016, 8pm
  • Friday, January 8 2016, 8pm
  • Saturday, January 9 2016, 8pm
  • Sunday, January 10 2016, 4pm

Aix-en-Provence / France
Grand Théâtre de Provence

  • Wednesday, January 13 2016
  • Thursday, January 14 2016

Bilbao / Spain
Teatro Arriaga

  • Sunday, January 17 2016, 7pm
  • Monday, January 18 2016, 8pm

Madrid / Spain
Teatros del Canal

  • Thursday, January 21 2016
  • Friday, January 22 2016
  • Saturday, January 23 2016

Châteauvallon / France
Centre National de Création et de Diffusion culturelles

  • Wednesday, January 27 2016, 7.30pm
  • Thursday, January 28 2016, 8.30pm
  • Friday, January 29 2016, 8.30pm
  • Saturday, January 30 2016, 8.30pm

Sérignan / France
La Cigalière

  • Tuesday, February 2 2016, 9pm
  • Wednesday, February 3 2016, 7pm
  • Thursday, February 4 2016, 7pm

Suresnes / France
Théâtre de Suresnes - Jean Vilar

  • Friday, February 12 2016, 9pm

Genève / Switzerland
Forum Meyrin

  • Tuesday, February 23 2016, 8.30pm
  • Wednesday, February 24 2016, 8.30pm

Compiègne / France
Théâtre Impérial

  • Friday, February 26 2016, 8.45pm
  • Saturday, February 27 2016, 8.45pm

Val-de-Reuil / France
Théâtre de l'Arsenal

  • Wednesday, March 2 2016

Chartres / France
Théâtre municipal

  • Tuesday, March 8 2016, 8.30pm

Meaux / France
Théâtre Luxembourg de Meaux

  • Thursday, March 10 2016, 8.30pm

Vichy / France
Opéra de Vichy

  • Saturday, March 12 2016

Châlons-en-Champagne / France
La Comète - Scène nationale

  • Tuesday, March 15 2016, 8.30pm
  • Wednesday, March 16 2016, 8.30pm

Chelles / France
Théâtre de Chelles

  • Friday, March 18 2016, 8.30pm

Amiens / France
Maison de la Culture d’Amiens

  • Monday, March 30 2015, 8.30pm
  • Tuesday, March 31 2015, 7.30pm

Luxembourg / Luxembourg
Grand Théâtre

  • Wednesday, May 25 2016, 8pm
  • Thursday, May 26 2016, 8pm
  • Friday, May 27 2016, 8pm

Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines / France
Théâtre Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines

  • Friday, June 3 2016, 8.30pm
  • Saturday, June 4 2016, 8.30pm

Paris / France
Théâtre des Bouffes du Nord

  • Tuesday, June 14 2016, 8.30pm
  • Wednesday, June 15 2016, 8.30pm
  • Thursday, June 16 2016, 8.30pm
  • Friday, June 17 2016, 8.30pm
  • Saturday, June 18 2016, 3.30pm
  • Saturday, June 18 2016, 8.30pm
  • Tuesday, June 21 2016, 8.30pm
  • Wednesday, June 22 2016, 8.30pm
  • Thursday, June 23 2016, 8.30pm
  • Friday, June 24 2016, 8.30pm
  • Saturday, June 25 2016, 3.30pm
  • Saturday, June 25 2016, 8.30pm
  • Tuesday, June 28 2016, 3.30pm
  • Tuesday, June 28 2016, 8.30pm
  • Wednesday, June 29 2016, 8.30pm
  • Thursday, June 30 2016, 8.30pm
  • Friday, July 1 2016, 8.30pm
  • Saturday, July 2 2016, 3.30pm
  • Saturday, July 2 2016, 8.30pm
  • Tuesday, July 5 2016, 8.30pm
  • Wednesday, July 6 2016, 8.30pm
  • Thursday, July 7 2016, 8.30pm
  • Friday, July 8 2016, 8.30pm
  • Saturday, July 9 2016, 3.30pm
  • Saturday, July 9 2016, 8.30pm
Season 2016/2017

Charleroi / Belgium
Palais des Beaux-Arts

  • Friday, March 17 2017, 8pm
  • Saturday, March 18 2017, 8pm

Versailles / France
Opéra Royal

  • Saturday, April 22 2017, 7pm
  • Sunday, April 23 2017, 3pm

Associated medias

  • Vidéos Vidéos
    2 videos
  • Vidéos Vidéos
    2 albums
  • Vidéos Vidéos
    0 audios
  • Vidéos Vidéos
    0 scores
  • Vidéos Vidéos
    2 texts
Chargement des médias associés...