The Beggar S Opera 2018 Festival Jardins William Christie DSC09687 BD Jay Qin header

Ballad-opera


The Beggar’s Opera


John Gay – Johann Christoph Pepusch

Back

The Beggar’s Opera
John Gay – Johann Christoph Pepusch


Ensemble

Instrumentistes des Arts Florissants

Conception musicale du spectacle

William CHRISTIE

Staging

Robert CARSEN

Musical Direction and harpsichord

William CHRISTIE

Musical Direction and harpsichord

Florian CARRÉ

Musical Direction and harpsichord

Marie VAN RHIJN

Settings

James BRANDILY

Costumes design

Petra REINHARDT

Choreography

Rebecca HOWELL

Lighting

Robert CARSEN

Lighting

Peter VAN PRAET

Dramaturgie

Ian BURTON

Flutist

Emmanuelle GAL


Mr. Peachum, Robert Burt
Mrs. Peachum / Diana Trapes, Beverley Klein
Polly Peachum, Kate Batter
Macheath, Benjamin Purkiss
Lockit, Kraig Thornber
Lucy Lockit, Olivia Brereton
Jenny Diver, Emma Kate Nelson
Filch / Manuel, Sean Lopeman
Matt, Gavin Wilkinson
Jack, Taite-Elliot Drew
Robin, Wayne Fitzsimmons
Harry, Dominic Owen

Alternately:

Violin 1: Emmanuel Resche-CasertaTami TromanLiv HeymThéotime Langlois de Swarte
Violin 2:  Liv HeymMartha Moore, Théotime Langlois de Swarte
Alto: Sophie de BardonnècheSimon HeyerickMartha MooreMyriam Bulloz
Cello: Elena Andreyev, Marion MartineauCyril PouletAlix Verzier
Doublebass: Douglas BalliettHugo Abraham
Flute and traverso: Anna BessonSebastien Marq, Tiam Goudarzi
Hautbois : Neven LesageVincent Blanchard
Percussions: Marie-Ange Petit, Hervé Trovel
Theorbo: Massimo Moscardo, Thomas DunfordDiego Salamanca


Musical Advisors: Anna Besson and Sébastien Marq

Musical Edition: Pascal Duc (Les Arts Florissants)

The Conseil régional des Pays de la Loire supports the regional tour of The Beggar’s Opera initiated by Angers Nantes Opéra. www.culture.paysdelaloire.fr 

Bloc TOURNEE


Program

Live on Culturebox

Although quoted in all the music history books as the most characteristic example, together with Dido and Aneas of what the English contributed to the realm of opera, The Beggar’s Opera is rarely mounted. In fact, it is the very first time that Les Arts Florissants will perform this unusual work, which some people consider as the ancestor of the musical. More than an opera strictly speaking, it is a "ballad-opera": a form of play intersected by popular songs and learned airs which certain people attributed to Purcell or Handel, compiled by the composer of the overture, Pepusch. This staged performance will be an opportunity to rediscover the savoury satire of John Gay’s libretto at the same time as the talents of the musicians of Les Arts Florissants as arrangers and improvisors, since they have themselves harmonised the score. It will also be an opportunity for William Christie and the stage Director Robert Carsen, to pursue their long collaboration, after the success of their productions such as Alcina, Armide and Les Fêtes vénitiennes

Upcoming concerts

Novara / Italy
Teatro Coccia

  • Saturday, October 27 2018, 8.30pm
  • Sunday, October 28 2018, 4pm
Buy my tickets

Athènes / Grèce
Megaron- Alexandra Triadi Hall

  • Thursday, November 1 2018
  • Friday, November 2 2018

Angers / France
Grand Théâtre

  • Wednesday, November 7 2018
  • Thursday, November 8 2018
  • Friday, November 9 2018

Saint-Brieuc / France
La Passerelle

  • Tuesday, November 13 2018
Buy my tickets

Saumur / France
Le Dôme

  • Friday, November 16 2018, 8.30pm
  • Saturday, November 17 2018, 8.30pm
Buy my tickets

Dinan / France
Théâtre des Jacobins

  • Tuesday, November 20 2018

Vannes / France
Théâtre Anne De Bretagne

  • Friday, November 23 2018
  • Saturday, November 24 2018

Saint-Nazaire / France
Le théâtre

  • Tuesday, November 27 2018, 8.30pm
Buy my tickets

Le Mans / France
Les Quinconces - L'Espal

  • Friday, November 30 2018
  • Saturday, December 1 2018
Buy my tickets

La Roche-sur-Yon / France
Le Grand R

  • Tuesday, December 4 2018, 8.30pm
  • Wednesday, December 5 2018, 7pm

Laval / France
Théâtre de Laval

  • Saturday, December 8 2018, 8.30pm
Buy my tickets

Nantes / France
Théâtre Graslin - Angers Nantes Opéra

  • Tuesday, December 11 2018, 8pm
  • Wednesday, December 12 2018, 8pm
  • Thursday, December 13 2018, 8pm
  • Saturday, December 15 2018, 8pm
Buy my tickets

Caen / France
théâtre de Caen

  • Tuesday, December 18 2018, 8pm
  • Wednesday, December 19 2018
  • Thursday, December 20 2018
  • Friday, December 21 2018

Versailles / France
Opéra Royal

  • Friday, January 11 2019, 8pm
  • Saturday, January 12 2019, 7pm
  • Sunday, January 13 2019, 12.40pm
Buy my tickets

Rennes / France
Opéra

  • Wednesday, January 16 2019, 8pm
  • Thursday, January 17 2019, 8pm
  • Friday, January 18 2019, 8pm
  • Saturday, January 19 2019, 6pm
Buy my tickets

Quimper / France
Théâtre de Cornouailles

  • Tuesday, January 22 2019
  • Wednesday, January 23 2019

Reims / France
Opéra de Reims

  • Saturday, January 26 2019, 2.30pm
  • Saturday, January 26 2019, 8.30pm
Buy my tickets

Massy / France
Opéra

  • Saturday, February 2 2019, 8pm
  • Sunday, February 3 2019, 4pm
Buy my tickets

La Rochelle / France
La Coursive

  • Tuesday, February 5 2019
  • Wednesday, February 6 2019

Previous dates

Season 2017/2018

Paris / France
Théâtre des Bouffes du Nord

  • Friday, April 20 2018, 8.30pm
  • Saturday, April 21 2018, 8.30pm
  • Tuesday, April 24 2018, 8.30pm
  • Wednesday, April 25 2018, 8.30pm
  • Thursday, April 26 2018, 8.30pm
  • Friday, April 27 2018, 8.30pm
  • Saturday, April 28 2018, 3.30pm
  • Wednesday, May 2 2018, 8.30pm
  • Thursday, May 3 2018, 8.30pm

Spoleto / Italy
Spoleto Festival

  • Friday, July 6 2018, 7.30pm
  • Saturday, July 7 2018, 5.30pm
  • Sunday, July 8 2018, 3pm

Edinburgh / United Kingdom
King's Theater

  • Thursday, August 16 2018, 7.30pm, Edinburgh International Festival
  • Friday, August 17 2018, 7.30pm, Edinburgh International Festival
  • Saturday, August 18 2018, 7.30pm, Edinburgh International Festival
  • Sunday, August 19 2018, 7.30pm, Edinburgh International Festival
Season 2018-2019

Luxembourg / Luxembourg
Grand Théâtre

  • Thursday, September 27 2018, 8pm
  • Friday, September 28 2018, 8pm
  • Saturday, September 29 2018, 8pm

Genève / Switzerland
Grand Théâtre

  • Wednesday, October 3 2018, 7.30pm
  • Thursday, October 4 2018, 7.30pm
  • Friday, October 5 2018, 7.30pm
  • Saturday, October 6 2018, 7.30pm
  • Sunday, October 7 2018, 3pm

Clermont-Ferrand / France
Opéra-Théâtre

  • Thursday, October 11 2018, 8pm
  • Friday, October 12 2018, 8pm

Pise / Italy
Teatro de Pisa

  • Saturday, October 20 2018, 8.30pm
  • Sunday, October 21 2018, 3.30pm

Associated medias

  • Vidéos Vidéos
    0 videos
  • Vidéos Vidéos
    2 albums
  • Vidéos Vidéos
    0 audios
  • Vidéos Vidéos
    0 scores
  • Vidéos Vidéos
    0 texts
Chargement des médias associés...